Interview with Expats Blog

Just a few days ago, my interview with Expats Blog appeared on their pages. Here’s a teaser:

A proud Ecuadorian.

A proud Ecuadorian.

What are the best things to do in the area; anything to recommend to future expats?

Quito is one of the most under-rated cities in South America. Most Americans only pass through on their way to the Galapagos and have no clue as to the wide variety of tourist opportunities in the area. It’s part of why I am so passionate about writing my blog. And it isn’t just the historic downtown or the excellent museums. I want folks to learn about the turquoise waters of the crater in Quilatoa and the hummingbirds at the Yanacocha Reserve. Even locals don’t know about the hiking opportunities just outside Cotopaxi National Park or the variety of birds to be seen at Jerusalem Regional Park. And I know that my family has only just scratched the surface. We have so much to explore.

– See more at: http://www.expatsblog.com/articles/1805/us-expat-living-in-ecuador-interview-with-angie#sthash.mRnwH0gc.dpuf

If you would be so kind as to take the time to leave a comment on the Expat Blog website I would be very appreciative. Let me know if your blog appears on their pages so I can return the favor!

Living in Ecuador

4 thoughts on “Interview with Expats Blog

  1. I enjoyed reading the interview. It’s great to be able to get practical advice. I look forward to moving to Quito next summer! Graduate school, here I come! And I also look forward to reading many more of your posts.

    Like

    • Quito is a great place to live – especially if you come prepared 🙂

      If there is something specific you’d like to see me write about, let me know. I’m always happy to visit a new neighborhood and take pictures, for example. Maybe in the area around your new school?

      Like

      • If you don’t mind, I would like to know more about PUCE. I know little about the area or the school besides the academic programs and the fact that I’d like to go there. Anything at all would be useful. What part of the city is it in? Can I be a permanent pedestrian there? What is the general reputation of the school? Have you been to the campus? I could ask endless questions, I’m sure. It’s lovely of you to ask a reader for a topic.

        Like

      • It’s my pleasure.

        The school is in between two districts – Mariscal and La Floresta. I’ll be sure to write more about both. It’s near the Casa de la Cultura and this great museum, http://notyouraverageamerican.com/2014/05/20/museum-of-gold/ and not far from the weekly Friday market in La Floresta – http://notyouraverageamerican.com/2013/08/27/the-outdoor-farmers-market-quiteno-style/

        And you can be a permanent pedestrian in Quito – it will mean developing good street sense if you don’t have it, but it is entirely possible.

        As to PUCE, I need to do some homework. Let me talk to a few friends and see what I can learn for you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

