Every Visit to Yanacocha Brings New Discovery

Fawn-breased Brilliant hummingbird or Brillante Pechianteado

Fawn-breasted Brilliant hummingbird or Brillante Pechianteado

I’ve already written about a local hummingbird reserve a mere 45 minutes outside of Quito, Yanacocha. It’s a treasure of a place. To get there, I drive through the crowded streets of the city until they slowly turn into the narrower and tighter road circling up the mountain around the north side of Pichincha. The last five kilometers of the road is dirt and gravel with an occasional sign reminding the traveler that they are on the right path. On a clear day, I can see mountainside after mountainside of cleared farms, herds of black and white cows, and fields full of flowering lupine. Most visits, however, are cloudy, as befits the name of the habitat where so many hummingbirds thrive, the cloud forest.

My latest visit was with a friend who had only a short stop in Quito. He was on his way to the Galapagos, like most travelers from the US, and had scheduled only a couple of days in Quito. That will be another blog piece – why Americans need to take more time to explore the high Andes. There is so much here to discover.

The day he arrived, it was threatening rain, so we hiked with full gear, just in case. Always a good idea in the fast changing weather of these mountains. And though we didn’t see tons of birds, we saw enough to get a couple of truly wonderful pictures. And, for the first time, I hiked one of the lower trails, The Spectacled Bear. It’s a trail that demands close attention as it was muddy and slick in many a place, especially where the small rain-fed streams come pouring off the mountain side. We were a tad early for orchids and I only saw one small variety. But mushrooms were every where, encouraged by the recent rains.

I’m ready to return again now that it is April. I want to see the rare Black-breasted Puffleg hummingbird. Most sources agree that he begins to show himself more often starting in April with repeated sightings throughout the summer and sometimes into the early fall. And I hope to photograph more orchids in the wild. But either way, I know that when I go, I will discover something new. I have no doubt of that at all.

If you would like to see any of these photos in a larger format, just click on it!

3 thoughts on “Every Visit to Yanacocha Brings New Discovery

  1. I wish my mother was online, she loves her “immigrant jewels” in Arizona. I hope you get a great pic of the rare one, I’ve never even heard of it before. I love orchids, though I had to leave all mine behind in Alaska when we moved south. Thank you for “taking me south” with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

