Banana Bread – Pan de Plátano Maqueño

Finished Banana Bread, perfectly moist yet still cuts with a bread knife.

If your family is anything like mine, trying to determine banana consumption is harder the predicting the stock market. It never fails that we will eat bananas like there are no tomorrow until the week that we don’t and I am left with a pile of rapidly browning bananas in the fruit bowl. The best solution? Banana Bread!

Banana Bread is a type of quick bread. As far as I know, quick breads are an American invention. I have never seen them in Europe. I have yet to eat any in South America. If you know of an example from another country that you would like to share, please do so in the comments! I would love to be proven wrong.

Quick breads don’t use yeast to rise but rely on baking soda and/or baking powder. They are super easy to assemble. They are almost always sweet and therefore are used for a snack rather than as an actual bread. When I was growing up, I would love to eat my banana bread spread with butter alongside a cup of very English tea.

I have a favorite recipe that I’ve changed over the years. You’ll notice in the pictures below a very well used Sunset Cookbook, Easy Basics for Good Cooking. It is the cookbook from my earliest days in college. It’s amazing that it still survives. The recipe in this book provides me with the basic measurements but other than that, I’ve adjusted ingredients to my family’s tastes. I hope you enjoy this Banana Bread as much as we do!

Banana Bread
3 large ripe bananas (I used six small Ecuadorian bananas for this recipe)
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
4 T butter, melted
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 t salt
1 t baking soda
1 t cinnamon
1/4 t nutmeg

Pan de Plátano Maqueño
6 Platanos Maqueños pequeños (o 3 grandes)
250 g Azúcar Morena
1 huevo
60 g Mantequilla derretida
1.5 tz Harina
1 cdta Sal
1.5 cdta Polvo de Hornear
1 cdta de Canela
1/4 cdta de Nuez Moscada

Peel and slice bananas into a large bowl – Pelar y cortar los plátanos en un tázon grande.

Use a potato masher to mash the bananas – Se usa una batidora para hacer puré de platano.

Add the sugar, and beat. Repeat with the egg, and then the melted butter – Añadir el azucar, y batir la mezcla. Repetir con el huevo y pues la mantequilla.

Add the flour, baking soda, and spices – Añadir la harina, el polvo de hornear, y las especias.

Place the batter in a loaf pan, greased with butter, then put in a 325 degree oven and bake for approximately 45 minutes – Poner la mezcla en un molde para pan, bien engrasado con mantequilla, pues poner en el horno a 160 grados y hornear para aproximadamente 45 minutos.

Remove from oven; if a toothpick comes out clean, the loaf has finished baking – Retirar del horno; insertar un palillo y si esta limpio, el pan esta listo.

Let the freshly baked bread cool before slicing and enjoy! – Dejar el pan hasta esta tibio. ¡Rebanar y disfrutar!

5 thoughts on “Banana Bread – Pan de Plátano Maqueño

  1. So are quick breads easier than yeast breads at altitude? I don’t have a recipe. Over the years of learning the basics I realized the ratio and the consistence I needed and wing it from there. Funnily enough, the husband and kids think that is where THEY can start and royally make a hash of things when they try to wing it. (Great jumping off point for life lessons…dun dun dun)

    Also, I just found this interesting take on granola that you might be able to adapt to a certain caffeine laden staple there in Ecuador. http://shewhoeats.blogspot.ch/2014/01/going-green.html?utm_source=http://chocolateandzucchini.com&utm_medium=e-mail&utm_campaign=2014-02-newsletter-vo

    Like

    • Oh does that matcha granola look yummy! I will have to try it out though I think I’ll skip the chocolate. Have you tried matcha chocolate before?

      And quick breads are easier here… I’ve given the directions in Spanish using baking powder rather than our more normal baking soda as it’s easier to obtain in Ecuador. But either seem to work. This batch came out a tad flat for altitude. I think next time I might use a combo of baking soda and baking powder.

      Like

      • That’s good to know about the baking soda/powder difference.

        I have not tried matcha choc. Hadn’t heard of it really. The food photos, especially ones with such vibrant colors, must be viewed with a bit of skepticism. I am not sure how beautifully green this will eventually turn out. I made a small batch with a Trader Joe’s matcha ice tea mix and didn’t get much green, but I am not sure how much true matcha was in it to tell you the truth.

        Like

      • I was wanting to buy some match to make ice cream anyway, so it will probably be worth the gamble. Now to find an online source!

        Like

  2. Pingback: Applesauce Spice Bread – Typically American | Not Your Average American

Leave a Reply

